To ‘Riverdale’ With Love

riverdale

When it comes to television shows, I would best be described as a British detective show junkie. Luther, Ripper Street, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, The Fall, Broadchurch, Bletchley Park Sherlock, that one random mini series where a murder mystery happens in Pride and Prejudice.  Throw in some Twin Peaks and Clue and it’s my perfect evening! So when I learned that Riverdale followed a murder mystery set inside of the modernized Archie universe, I was on this show like Hemingway on a muffin.

For reference, I’m talking about my cat, not the famous author. She really likes muffins, more specifically pushing them off tables. Well, the famous author might have loved them too … after a quick Google search I cannot confirm Ernest Hemingway’s preferred breakfast pastry but I can FOR SURE confirm he was an alcoholic.

Now, back to Riverdale, where I don’t doubt one of the characters will eventually be revealed as an alcoholic. Set in the present day, Riverdale follows Archie and the gang as they investigate the death of Jason Blossom. For Archie fans, this show delivers such fun and juicy take on the outdated characters and overplayed high school situations the comics suffered from.

I’m so into it. I’ve Googled cast interviews, rewatched trailers and clips. I’ve got the Riverdale fever bad and the only cure is more Riverdale.

And it’s just CRAZY!  In episode one, Archie and Jughead aren’t friends, Veronica and Betty form a power team, Moose is questioning his sexual identity with my favorite character Kevin, the Coopers are crazy, Archie’s mom left and moved to Chicago, AND Archie is sleeping with a teacher. SAY WHAT! Oh and Archie’s crazy good-looking. I’m talking abs of steel and a tribal tattoo. Plus, Barb from Stranger Things is in the third episode! All hail Barb!

giphy

Once I finally collected the fragments of my brain that had previously exploded, I set about analyzing my own sudden obsession with the show. A huge part is nostalgia. When I say I read Archie comics growing up, I mean I would buy them every time I went to the store, received them as a stocking stuffers until my hometown stopped selling them, and would even get to borrow my aunt’s copies from when she was growing up. I read hundreds of issues over the years and what I’m loving now is seeing the evolution of the characters into the modern age. In Riverdale, the writers have done an amazing job of replacing the outdated themes of the comics (two girls fighting over one guy) and replacing them with conversations about white privilege, slut shaming, sexuality, and mental health. It’s ridiculous, fun, and smart — something I rarely say about CW shows.

I currently have my theories about who Jason’s killer is but I will keep those to myself until you catch up. And to all the people I have cornered in real-life to rave about Riverdale, thank you for being such a nice audience. But seriously watch the show so I can stop live texting Earnest every Friday morning with my minute to minute reactions.

2 thoughts on “To ‘Riverdale’ With Love

Leave a Reply

