NYC Life Lesson #9: Go to the Concert

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 7.41.49 AM

There are three things I love talking about more than anything else: My cats, consent, and self-care. I could go on and on and on about these topics for days because not only are they important, but super interesting! At least to me. You might like to talk about dominos, I don’t judge.

On Wednesday I went to see Leon Bridges at the Beacon Theatre in the upper west side. M and I had gotten the tickets months ago and in what seemed like a blink of an eye, suddenly the date was upon us. As each hour of the day progressed, my excitement became more and more burdened by my growing to-do list and inability to get out of work on time — which is crazy because I adore Leon Bridges! But I felt tied to my desk even as the subway doors closed and was left questioning if going to this concert was how I should be spending my night when I had deadlines waiting for me at home.

Thus bringing us to the secret lesson I learned while dancing in my seat on a Wednesday night: Go to the concert. Or play or dinner with friends or book club. Say yes more than you say no — your to-do list will be there tomorrow but this specific night will not.

While having a routine is something I deeply value, I’ve also been using 2016 to lessen its rigid structure by reprogramming my mindset to value spontaneity the same as a deadline or a yoga class.

This weekend, I bounced from dinner with friends to museum visits to brunch to embroidery classes. Coming home, I felt so full of friendship, from the tips of my toes to my topknot, and also ready at the end of the day to dive into work before embarking on another adventure tomorrow. It’s a balance I doubt I’ll ever be perfect at but one I’ll continue trying at none the less.

Probably to the sweet serenades of Leon Bridges in the background.

 

Leave a Reply

