Book Club: ‘Peter Pan’ and ‘Carry On’

What a day to be alive, am I right?

Storm Jonas is raging outside, M and I are keeping the tea kettle whistling inside, and the uniform of the day is fuzzy socks, sweat pants, and a free blue t-shirt that says “Social Coding.”

(I’m neither extremely social, nor adept at coding so I consider this my “indoor shirt” as my mother would call it.)

The other day while rearranging my room, I counted the number of unread books I accumulated in a year of living in Brooklyn. 43. That’s almost the same number as states we have in this country. How did this happen?!

Naturally it perplexed me to such a level I went out and bought another book so now I’m at 44, with a goal of reading them all by the end of the year. Wish me luck, especially with “Ghostly” which is 500 pages of ghost stories.

But my thoughts on books thus far in the year:

Peter Pan

I’ve made it a point to become a more well-rounded bibliophile post-college — hence my bookshelf now housing “Infinite Jest” and “Catcher in the Rye.” “Peter Pan” was my New Years date and a great, enjoyable read. I was surprised, though shouldn’t have been, by how different the original text was from pop culture’s take on the classic fairytale. Peter is much more narcissistic, the Lost Boys meet a different fate, and Wendy is a classic Victorian female character. The text is beautifully written and an opportunity to life the veil around one of the most talked about children’s tales of all time. It’s also super short and will probably impress all those young single nannies on the subway.

Carry On

Go out and buy this immediately. IMMEDIATELY. The followup to “Fangirl” by Rainbow Rowell (wrote about it here), “Carry On” follows the story of Simon Snow, the Chosen One of the magic world. Snow is tasked with defeating the evil Humdrum, an unknown force killing off magic in the UK, while still trying to tolerate school and his insufferable roommate and potential vampire, Baz. Think “Harry Potter” meets coming-of-age tale meets romantic comedy. I couldn’t put this story down once I started it. The most powerful part of “Carry On” is Rowell’s realistic, authentic portrayal of the LGBTQ community and her normalization of queer relationships within her stories. If you love fantasy and a tiny bit of romance, this book is for you.

Beautiful Darkness

Grimm meets the graphic novel genre in this dark fairytale. Princess Aurora, shaken from her home and forced to provide for a community of selfish, lying characters, the story follows her change from nurturing princess to warrior queen who falls in love with a human. Just to preview, in the intro Aurora learns her life has been lived thus far in a human body which is decaying in the woods. That nugget of truth should give you an idea of what you’re jumping into here. The watercolor work is incredible and though a quick read, I greatly enjoyed adding this text to my bookshelf.

***

Read on my fellow sweet peas.

2 thoughts on “Book Club: ‘Peter Pan’ and ‘Carry On’

  1. Pingback: Book Club: A Few Recommendations | The Curious Case of Carly Christine

  2. Pingback: Book Club: 5 Books, 1 Review | The Curious Case of Carly Christine

Leave a Reply

