NYC Life Lesson #6: Spring is Here?

IMG_1282^^ My new favorite spot at work. It’s a long room — complete with rows of windows and wooden bars to write at — that is built over the street connecting the Google building with the building next to it. It’s about the most hipster place in the world, and that’s coming from someone who use to live next to The Lab. ^^

I never thought the day would come when I would say, I think it’s spring? The question mark sadly must remain because I’m not sure if we’ve actually transitioned into the next season. But here are a few things I do know.

One, I wore a jacket today that wasn’t my snow jacket. It was absolutely glorious. I’ll never look like a red panda stuffed in a sleeping bag again (until next year). And simultaneously, with all these moments of glee, I realized I haven’t stopped wearing the same jacket for Three. Months. Straight. That’s close to 75 days of sweat, subway grime, smog, and germs festering in one location. So in celebration of the upcoming season I took my snow jacket to the dry cleaners and retired my snow boots until next winter. And then quickly began shopping online for the perfect pair of Nike sneakers. They were found and they will be loved.

Two, the sun is out and at times, you can even feel it against your skin. For a while there, during “the coldest winter since 1932,” the sun would be visible but I could never feel its warmth. This, in my opinion, is the cruelest joke of all. I’d be battling my way down 14th street, wind attempting to rip the epidermis off my face, and I’d look up to the sun for a little help, and nothing. Nada. Zero. Zip! Might as well not even been shining that day! But now, the sun feels magnificent … even through three layers of clothing. It actually reached 42 degrees today and I got a little sweaty walking to the office, so I if I had to make a wager, I would say spring is on its way.

Three, the snow has almost completely melted exposing our hopes, dreams, and an enormous amount of rotting trash that has been frozen for a good five weeks. New York isn’t know for being a good, or even semi-good, smelling city so a little rotting trash doesn’t make too much of a difference.

Four, everyone is suddenly much more attractive now that I don’t have a Vitamin D deficiency. It’s like coming out of hibernation and after months of focusing solely on survival, I’ve realized there are quite a few dreamboats out there. There is nothing that sends the heart aflutter like one shedding their snow jacket and showing a little ankle or skin around the collar. Too much skin and I’d just think they were insane. It is still below 50 degrees.

And five, with the sun out the last thing I was to do is be indoors. Ever. My coworker said it best the other day, when blowing into the office and shouting, I just want to be outside in the sun! I have so much energy! She’s a tiny adorable lady who is writing a music so this sentiment was even more wonderful coming from her. But it’s totally true! The sun makes me want to walk and explore everywhere! I’m planning on taking my camera on a date throughout the city this weekend so lets all say a small prayer that it doesn’t rain. I might even buy it a cupcake if things go really well!

Is it weird though that I will kind of miss winter? It might be because I feel like I finally have a handle on what winter is all about, and this was the season that greeted me upon my arrival. It’s been the season I never had to shave my legs for and that encouraged me to eat an entire sleeve of Thin Mints in one sitting because snow jacket.

11049182_766736790062327_815173770_n

Who am I kidding, Spring is going to be like eating a grilled for the first time after being vegan for a year.

Spring, if you wouldn’t wrapping up your time in California and heading back to the east coast, it would be nice to finally meet you. I’ve enjoyed the company of your step brother Winter but even I have to admit, his frosty demeanor can get a bit tiring.

^^ This video encompasses every reason I wrote a love letter to Dr. Doe in my Daily Dot column.  ^^

2 thoughts on “NYC Life Lesson #6: Spring is Here?

  1. Pingback: How Kimmy Schmidt Became My Soul Animal | The Curious Case of Carly Christine

  2. Pingback: A Normal Person’s Reaction to Celebrity Engagements | The Curious Case of Carly Christine

Leave a Reply

