June Lake Part II: That Time I Learned To Fly Fish

IMG_2968^^ Fishing, it’s good for the soul ^^

During our recent trip to Mammoth, my dad and I decided to give our traditional fishing poles a rest and take a whack at wet fly fishing on the Owen River. We left our cabin at 5 a.m. on Saturday morning, and with a Schott’s donut and coffee warming our bellies, we meet up with our fishing guide Tom to begin our six hour tour (“Gilligan’s Island” anyone?). If there is anything I’ve learned from my years spent crammed into a tiny tin fishing boat with my family, it is this: There are not many people who are enjoyable to share a boat with.

Jumping into the boat with our guide Tom, my dad and I spent the next six hours laughing, casting and relaxing along the banks of the river. Turns out, Tom was the perfect boat mate to add to the list and seamlessly joined into our fast paced banter about Mel Brook’s movies and nonfiction novels. He shared with us stories of the Sierra Mountains and we talked to him about my life back in Los Angeles and my hunt for the perfect job. Six hours went by in the blink of an eye as we cast, caught and released fish after fish into the river. And now, I’m hooked.

And now a couple pictures so you can feel like you were there too 🙂

IMG_2931^^ Although I hated (with a capital H) getting up at 5 a.m., I had to admit watching the sunrise on the river was truly a once in a lifetime experience. Mainly because I will never be doing that again. ^^

IMG_2945^^ Dad and me ^^

IMG_2936^^ The fish couldn’t seem to get enough of my dad throughout the entire day and like the great father he is, he let me reel in a couple fish on his pole just so I wouldn’t feel left out ^^

IMG_2949^^ But I finally caught this 65 pound winner you see before you so all was right in the fishing world ^^

IMG_2969^^ My escape ^^

4 thoughts on “June Lake Part II: That Time I Learned To Fly Fish

  1. Pingback: Chapter 1: New Job | The Curious Case of Carly Christine

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 23, Hello 24 | The Curious Case of Carly Christine

Leave a Reply

