College I Miss You

IMG_2866^^ A place so magical that even Time stops to sit under the trees of Aldrich Park and enjoy the sun ^^

The other day, as I sat among the sleep deprived students scattered about my favorite on-campus coffee shop, I realized how nostalgic I was for my stressful, crazy, wonderful days of college. Like most students attending my university, UC Irvine was not my first choice of schools but overtime, it wooed me with its Humanities Department and beautiful park. In college, my life felt so secure — I had a set goal of graduation, my friends were only a five minute walk away and my dreams felt so attainable that I believed I would be the editor and chief of Glamour the minute I graduated. For me, college was a place I felt infinite.

Now, walking along the same park path I had crossed hundreds of times on my way to class, I missed that security. At times when no editor is calling me back, I can’t help wishing I could go back to the carefree days of college. Those days spent discussing Fitzgerald and Faulkner with my professors and my biggest daily worry revolving around my grueling workload and finals. The real world has been more tricky and rejecting than I once anticipated and a year after graduation, I’m back wondering what my next great adventure will be.

In moments like this, there seems no better option than to turn to the puppets of Avenue Q for some life advice and a song “I Wish I Could Go Back To College.” What can I say? They get me.

2 thoughts on “College I Miss You

  1. I love this because I feel like you just described ME. Although, it kind of terrifies me because right now I’m procrastinating on THREE papers and I just want to be a financially stable post grad with a fancy writing career.

    HA.

    Right.

    I know that’s not reality and I really am having the time of my life right now. I love my life. Thank you for reminding me to appreciate it a bit more today. ❤ As for you, you go gurl.

    • Maggie–

      I have always been drawn to your blog because I see a bit of myself in each post. As for the financially stable post grad with a fancy writing job, we’re bound to get their girl! For gods sake we’ve already mastered the ability to pull all nighters to write billions of papers, a fancy job is bound to be the next step 🙂

      A big thank YOU for always inspiring me to try new things and appreciate all the little things that make up my life. I am wishing you all the best on your dates this week, rock it girl!

      Hugs,
      Carly

      PS. Is it incredibly old fashion to ask you if you’d like to be pen pals?

Leave a Reply

