The Carebears Who Dine

995780_10152619511599625_2081161113_n^^ Zabie, Ianna, Elizabeth and I minutes after devouring eight plates of sushi ^^

The other day, when I felt like I had the weight of the world on my shoulders, I met up with Elizabeth, Ianna and Zabie for a long overdue catchup and to eat as many plates of avocado sushi as physically possible. See I don’t eat seafood, so when it comes to going to sushi restaurants, I have three choices: avocado sushi, veggie rolls, or counting beer as my main course (which I normally do anyways).

Everytime I meet with this group, I am amazed by all they are juggling. We first met when we interned together at the CARE Office. We became known around CARE for our random animal noises, photoshopping llamas into all our photos, crashing the office’s computers after we tried to change the desktop background to a picture of a koala bear, and uncontrollably giggling in staff meetings. Man, those were the days.

We especially couldn’t wait to see Zabie, a mentor to us all. On top of being the violence prevention coordinator at the CARE Office, she is also writing a book, planning her wedding, teaching a yoga program for survivors of violence, and going to school for an advanced degree. Yes, she is one of those perfect people, and I love all 5’2 of her tiny, yoga toned frame.

For the rest of us, we’re all still trying to figure out this thing called life. But as John Lennon best said, “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” And with great friends and sushi dates ahead, life is looking pretty good.

1185690_10152619510689625_1570375096_n^^Snuggles and Smiles ^^

1098274_10101951249307601_116181153_n^^ Intern love (also notice, for once I am wearing a watch but sadly, I was still late) ^^

Leave a Reply

