Weekly Wish #4

voices coverThey say it takes 40 days to break a bad habit, and after seven days of trying to reprogram my internal clock to leave the house five minutes early, I am proud to say I made it to work on time this entire week. Yes, thank you, thank you, you have truly been instrumental in my timely success (along with my boyfriend pushing me out of bed in the morning and my decision to place my alarm clock in the other room so I HAVE to get up to turn it off).

This week, my weekly wish relates to a project that is very near and dear to my heart. Two years ago, I started Voices — a project dedicated to recording the stories of survivors of sexual assault and dating violence to be used as counseling and educational materials at UC Irvine. Just before I graduated from high school, my uncle was murdered by his girlfriend’s abusive ex-boyfriend after being caught in the crossfires of their past abusive relationship.

While I will never be able to forgive the woman who put my uncle in that dangerous position, I have coped with my pain by creating a project that breaks the silence surrounding this abuse. By sharing their stories, these survivors are reclaiming the words their perpetrators used against them and educating others about this often silent epidemic. I am currently advertising the project and looking for survivors interested in sharing their stories. If you or anyone you know might be interested in participating, please follow the link here or contact me for more information at voicesmakechange@gmail.com.

This week I am pushing myself to finalize all the edits on one interview transcript and finish writing the story of that particular survivor. I have interviewed nine survivors in total, and with each interview lasting an hour and a half, these transcripts have taken me months to get through. So let the writing begin!

** If you would be interested in participating or advertising the Voices Story Project on your blog, please feel free to contact me at voicesmakechange@gmail.com. I would love any and all support to make this project into something truly life changing.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wish #4

  1. It must be such an intense experience for you to work on this project. I’m so happy to have discovered your blog. I can’t wait to see/hear the finished product.

    • Hey Naomi,
      Thanks so much for your sweet comment! When I started reading your blog and found an entire post on turquoise, all I could think was a woman after my own heart! Looking forward to linking up in the future 🙂

      Best,
      C

  2. It is very cool of you to work an a project while having so many personal emotions involved.
    What a very awesome thing you are doing! I wish you the very best of luck on your project, and maybe some peace to go along with it.

  3. Good gracious, this sounds like an amazing project. It sounds like such a big thing to deal with and I love how you are making such progress already (nine interviews! go you!). I’m excited to hear how things go for you this week!

Leave a Reply

