Weeks Like These

IMG_2369

There are some weeks when everything goes exactly to plan. All your clothes are washed, your apartment is clean and by some miraculous act, you make it to all your spin and yoga classes on time with a water bottle to call your own.

And then there are weeks like this week, that are done in the blink of an eye before you are really have a chance to process anything that is happening. Each day everything on your checklist somehow goes unmarked and deadlines for articles and transcripts begin to pile up until you feel that with one more phone call your head quickly explode. Yes, that was this week for me.

At one point yesterday, I couldn’t help lay my head down on the table, overwhelmed by everything I needed to get done. I declared to my boyfriend — in a voice slightly muffled from the table — that I just couldn’t do it. It was too much. I quit.

In the past couple of months I have been trying to get my story project called Voices that works with survivors of sexual violence. It is my baby and something I am totally committed to. But as the only person working on it, it can often become discouraging at how slow all the writing is taking. I sometimes forget to give myself some slack and credit for coming home after an 8-hour day of writing for a magazine only to turn around and transcribe for four more hours.

Maybe the universe sensed that I could use some good news because today I found out that a violence prevention office just approved Voices to become a resource at their center. I start advertising with them on Monday! [does celebratory dance that ends with the running man] I definitely won’t say that any of it is easy, and I know for a fact, that some of the hardest parts of founding this project have yet to come, but what I do know, is that all of the stress and hours writing are incredibly worth it.

So here’s to continuing to make change. Cheers to all of you who are using your writing voice to make the world a better place and may you continue to know how much your bold, unwavering commitment to change inspires me.

Leave a Reply

